Worst Movie Genre 

I’ve been thinking here lately about which genre in film is the worst. It’s hard to actually narrow it down to which one is the worst out of all of them seeing that each genre has their faults and their strengths. Also there are very many different types out there, but I’ve just narrowed it down the basic ones. Drama, Romance, Comedy, Horror, Science Fiction and Fantasy. 

I’m going to go ahead and scratch of Science Fiction and fantasy. These two have offered many great films over two the years. Besides, how could the great Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and Star wars be associated with two hehe hehe worst. Now I will admit there are plenty of horrible films from those two. *cough Battlefield Earth *cough cough.

Drama is another genre that I will take out of the running as well. I do have to say that drama seems to be one of the easiest genres to make a good movie from. All you have to do is fine some sort of sad book or real life events, throw in some good actors and bam! Oscar contender. This genre does contain some of my favorite films such as Shawshank Redemption and Goodfellas. 

Now let’s get down to the nitty gritty. the margin between Comedy, Romance, and Horror is very very thin. Let’s start with comedy. Most of the comedies that are being released today are God aweful. Most of these come from the 10 or 12 Adam Sandler movies that come out each year (Someone needs limit him to 1 film a year). There are some good ones that have came out that I’m sure will be comedies classics. Movies like the Hangover(original only) or one of the Seth Rogen movies. Where this genre suffers is the spoof. These movies are written very lazily and are just not funny. I’m assuming the target audience are 10 year olds. Recently, I did a twitter poll just to see what other’s opinion was on what’s the worst genre. Comedy won suprsingly. Even though this was the general consensus, I feel like there is a genre far far worst.

We are now left with Romance and Horror. I have to get the title to worse Genre to *Drum Roll* Horror. Both of these last two genres are terrible, but horror edges Romance out slighly. 

I cannot remember the last good horror movie that was decent. Seems like everything that comes out in this genre is casted by terrible actors and have horrible and predictable scripts. I’m usually the one laughing at the ludicrous plot in the audience. Horror does have some great classics, but most of them do not hold up today. Movies like Halloween, Friday the 13th, and even Nightmare on Elm St. seem really silly when watching today. Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea behind Nightmare, but the effects are too cheesy today. Romance surpasses Horror because they are not limited to the special effects of when they are made. 

I almost forgot about one genre type, Action. No need to get into action to much. They are usually just mindless fun.

Which genre do you feel is the worst?

Leave a comment